Back in the UK. ‘Nicaragua Hasta la Vista…’

What do you do with a blog called ‘Nicaragua caminando‘ when you no longer live in Nicaragua?

You won’t have seen posts on this blog for a year or so. After three years living in Central America my wife and I are now back in our home country, Britain. And after three decades working on International Issues I now work in the UK charity sector for the first time. I will continue to use this blog for occasional posts, about international development and UK issues – community development, the environment, politics…

It is quite a change to be no longer working on Africa, Asia and Latin America. But I now work in community development locally in Sussex. I travel to beautiful villages, and occasionally plant trees or walk in the woods. There are many similarities between ‘overseas’ work and ‘UK work’ – the importance of community, building democracy from the ground up, politics dominated by the rich and the powerful, a mainstream media that reflects the wishes of our rulers… and so on.

I hope you’ll continue to be interested in this blog. Think Global and act local.

Lets keep caminando together … lets keep walking forwards.

Designing community projects in North & South – you always start with flipcharts! (VSO Nigeria 2010)
Planning ways to protect our community woodlands (Sussex 2021).

3 comments

  1. bier888 · April 24, 2021

    Thank you.

    Get Outlook for Android

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. Helen Devries · April 24, 2021

    I enjoyed your blog from Nicaragua….and if you want to encourage democracy from the ground up, then read
    The Slog’…someone passionate about just that.

    Like

    • stevenicaragua · April 24, 2021

      Thanks Helen, I’ll look out for ‘The Slog’. I think I can empathise sometimes with the title!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment